Department of Law  

The Law Department was established in the year 1961 and imparting legal education since 1964. At that time Kanpur was under jurisdiction of Agra University, Agra. Affiliation granted by Agra University Agra vide letter No.: Affl/2501 dated 27.10.1964 and affiliation permission was granted by Hon’ble Chancellor vide letter No.5601/G.S. dated 29.06.1964.Subsequently it was attached/affiliated with Kanpur University, Which is later on renamed as C.S.J.M. University, Kanpur. Before session 2013-14 the strength of the Department was 350 students for three years LL.B course but from the academic year 2014-15 onwards the BCI has authorised the maximum intake is 300 students i.e. five sections of 60 students. Admission of three years LL.B course is made through Entrance Test and counselling conducted by C.S.J.M University, Kanpur. Department has separate building for administrative block including well-furnished Moot-court room& Legal Aid Clinic.